The Evolving Christian Faith Network Newsletter
Meditative Prayers
Drawn into Gratitude and Cheer
0:00
-7:49

Drawn into Gratitude and Cheer

Thanksgiving Sermon 2023

2 Cor. 9:7-8

9:7 Each of you must give as you have made up your mind, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.

9:8 And God is able to provide you with every blessing in abundance, so that by always having enough of everything, you may share abundantly in every good work.


Seasons in My Backyard

I love my backyard in the spring and summer. There's something special about going out early in the morning with my cup of coffee and my dogs (Loki is a Shepherd/Husky mix and Lugh is a Husky). But, I sit out there quietly and let the sun warm me up first thing in the morning. I love to watch my boys wander around the yard, sniff, and even though they are a bit older sometimes even play now and again. Out there, I am surrounded by the green of the trees, the grass, and the vines. I hear the birds chirping and watch the squirrels at the base of the neighbor's tree, leery about coming into our yard because of the dogs.

Now that it is November, it's starting to get pretty cold outside. That puts an end to my enjoying the backyard with my cup of coffee and dogs. As temperatures drop so do the number of times my dogs and I go for a walk each day. And after the snow really hits, we'll eventually we'll get down to one daily walk…if they're lucky.

Every time I go outside with the dogs to go potty, now I have to bundle up. The heating bill is on the rise. It seems that every day is a reminder that, “winter is coming”.

Then, as I read this passage for Thanksgiving in Corinthians, I hear it say, “God loves a cheerful giver”. Yeah, I assure you that “cheerful” is probably not the best word to describe me during this time of year.

I don't know about you but it's not always the easiest thing for me to just decide, “I'm going to be cheerful today!” I mean, sure, I can pretend. I can put on a good act when I need to be presentable for others, even though I'm not really feeling it.

But that's not the same thing as feeling that cheer deep in your heart. That deep-seated cheer is really all about how we are experiencing our lives. And when you're carrying a lot of burdens on your shoulders, it's not easy just to simply let them go so that you can experience that cheerful heart.

At least, not without a little bit of help…

You see, one of the interesting things about my life every year is that there seems to be a certain pattern to it. As fall sets in and winter looms, I experience that state of, “Oh no, winter is coming”. 

Then, winter comes. The first big snow hits.

I wake up in the morning and look out the window to a couple of feet of white, powdered ice covering my yard. 

The Magic

Then the magic happens…

I let my dogs out. You see, by breed (the shepherd/husky mix and husky) they are both “snow dogs”. 

As they hit that snow, I watch it invigorate them. They run, jump, and play a bit. Admittedly they are less exuberant now than when they were a few years younger, but the effect is the same on me.

I am overwhelmed with gratitude for the joy that they have been given by this change in season.

For me, that moment triggers something inside of me that is the help that I need to shift my mindset from one of dread to one of gratitude. And that gratitude opens up the wellspring of…you got it…cheer in my heart.

While on my own I can't seem to pull myself out of my grumpiness, my boys are able to do it for me from the outside. They pull me out of myself enough that I can experience life differently.

And for that, I am truly thankful.

The Power of the Holiday of Thanksgiving

That, I think is the power of the holiday of Thanksgiving. This time that we set aside to spend with loved ones—an entire day even—it is an invitation to let go of all of the worries and the struggles, and rest in the love that we feel around us. It is an opportunity to allow yourself to be drawn into experiencing life a little bit differently. 

This Thanksgiving I encourage you to look upon the faces of those around you and remember all those wonderful times you spent together building each other up. Remember the stories you shared that have made each other laugh. And embrace the moment that you share together in the here and now.

Take this day, this day of thanksgiving, to truly share in life together both—giving and receiving—with a cheerful heart. And as you do so, remember, “God is able to provide you with every blessing in abundance, so that by always having enough of everything, you may share abundantly in every good work,”

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

0 Comments
The Evolving Christian Faith Network Newsletter
Meditative Prayers
While there are many ways to pray, I offer one option here: Guided meditative prayer. Feel free to use these prayers as often as you like. I recommend praying as a daily spiritual practice.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Bo McGuffee
Recent Episodes